more japanese knitting books..

In December I received another couple (!) of Japanese knitting books I have bought from YesAsia.com

IMG_1624

Of course I went for the latest copy of Keito Dama

IMG_1623

IMG_1626 IMG_1625 IMG_1627

There is quite a strong Scandinavian vibe, which I really like, even that pair going skiing with no snow to be seen?? The winter issues of Keito Dama are always a lot more geared towards knitting.. and the kind of knitting I like to do. The Spring/Summer issues are much more about crochet. There is always a bit of both in each issue but its worth noting.

IMG_1612

I also got this book, which due to my lack of Japanese reading ability.. i cant tell you what it’s called but.. it’s another very Cowichan inspired book.

IMG_1614 - Copy IMG_1615 - Copy

There are a lot more accessories in this book with a few jumpers and vests. Anything to add to my inspirations!

IMG_1616 - CopyThis book,  is one I bought purely on the cover.. i hoped, since I couldn’t find any more information about it. that it would be full of Fair Isle, which it isn’t

IMG_1618 IMG_1617 - Copy

It’s a lovely book, but shows one of the downfalls of buying these books online. You can’t look inside, so you have to kind of go by the cover. Still inspirational though!

IMG_1619

This book was an impulse purchase.. really i just thought it looked cute. I have dabbled (pardon the pun) in the idea of taking up needle felting.. as if i need another hobby.. but the pictures in the book are really cute and of course the layouts and set ups are very inspirational

IMG_1620 IMG_1621 IMG_1622

who doesn’t want a teenie tiny inedible baguette?!

I have just ordered another few books.. YesAsia.com is, I think, the best place to buy these types of books from. There is a huge range of books and they have free worldwide postage. Yes it takes a long time for them to arrive but you would wait the same amount of time from other places and pay more for the books and postage. When these newest books come though, I am taking a break.. i think i have a problem!

xx

10 thoughts on “more japanese knitting books..

  1. It’s certainly interesting to see what other countries believe is the cutting edge of knitwear. But more interesting to me were the Western models, especially the one in the second photo who looked like an automaton who had wound down. Also, they seem to have exaggerated the bodies on the models and made the heads look so tiny. Odd. I knew as soon as I saw the Cowichan-style sweaters that that would have caught your eye. How about those little houses and church? They would make a neat addition to your croft house cushions. Thanks for sharing the magazines with us, Ella.

    1. Hi Kathy, I know what you mean, unless they are trying to appeal to a western market by using western models? I would buy the magazines and books regardless but it is strange and yes your right, think that’s what attracted me to the felting book!! Xx

      1. I studied abroad in Japan and there is a big fascination with Westerners over there – my guess is that the use of Western models is to make knitting seem trendier. When I was there in 2004 it hadn’t caught on yet with many younger women, at least not where I was – I was the only woman in my 20s in my knitting circle. Otherwise it was all older Japanese women. But – I’m really just guessing here. :)

  2. If you ever get a chance to come over to the States, there’s a Japanese bookshop in New York City that has a huge knitting section – and needlepoint in general – I got some truly amazing embroidery stitch dictionaries the last time I went up there.

  3. Thanks Ella – great images and I’m off to the recommended website now….
    I used to knit small things (piano, saxophone) then stuff them with grain/beads so they would stand up – I bet you could knit the needle-felted objects without needing a patterns. And people like the knitted surface, that part doesn’t have to be realistic!

  4. Not being able to read or speak Japanese has meant that I just go for the pattern stitch books. Yes, the Japanese Bookstore in NYC is great and I purchased all mine there over a few years period. There are also books there on different types of sewn items (in English!!) that are truly amazing. I think they’re all by the same woman and I would send you the titles if you like. Great Eye Candy, small handwork pieces.

  5. Ella, a whole lot of the text in Japanese knitting magazines you can try to decipher. They are borrowing a lot of English :-) and words that are foreign are written with katakana. Google a katakana table and start deciphering. First row of your applemint book says ka-na-de-i-an-su-ta-ru and ends with the hiragana “no”-sign which signifies possession (genitive). So I would say it reads “Canadian Star of”. Two consonants can´t be placed together (except for n) and the “u” in ku, su , tu etc is mainly silent e.g. ku-ri-su-ma-su = christmas. So use your imagination and read English in Japanese. Hope you see this although I am a year late :-)

Leave a Reply, i'd love to hear your thoughts!

