mams jumper

IMG_1186This Jumper belongs to my Mam, she bought it in the 1980s in Lerwick. She found it again a few years ago at my Granny and Grandads house in Ollaberry, with my recent obsession I’m sure your not shocked that I took it out the cupboard…

IMG_1189

It is made from Icelandic Wool very similar to Alafoss Lopi, and Mam says it was very expensive at the time, there were a couple of mouse nibbles which went through the front and the back so using Lett-lopi I had left over from my Strokkur I have mended the holes but there was one reason I couldn’t wear it. Unfortunately the neck was too high for me, the jumper isn’t too itchy through the body but since the neck was a bit high, I found it quite itchy on my neck. I had a look at the neck and it was turned over and stitched so I asked Mam if I could try and lower it a bit, and she said I could.

neckline

I just snipped the neck and unravelled the rib, the fibres were pretty well felted but once I got going it came out pretty good, I then picked it up and did a simple garter stitch collar then turned it down and stitched it. I liked the way that collar looked on my Strokkur and I feel it sits better away from my neck, then I washed it and boarded it to help settle the wool since it had been reknitted after over 30 years!

IMG_5318

I wore it today and it was very cosy. I found these pictures of Mam wearing the jumper a while ago but looked them out last night, the pictures are dated 1982 so she was 18. The colours look a bit more muted and its felted especially over the yoke but since its over 30 years old its looking pretty good!

MamandUncleJ

I promise this is the last mention of Icelandic knitting from me for a while, im sure your getting fed up (until I finish all my planned knits..) but this is a good one to finish on for now.

IMG_5319

Speak soon

x

25 thoughts on “mams jumper

  1. Lovely jumper, gorgeous colours. The new looser neck works really well. Yes I remember the Icelandic jumpers had quite high tight necks at that time.

  2. It looks lovely and the new neckline fairly updates it. I actually found a pattern book for icelanic jumpers in amongst my Mam’s things – I will have to take some photos of it and put them online soon!

  3. Good for you redoing the sweater. I mean, it IS yours to deal with as you see fit and I applaud you! So many people feel intimidated by changing anything.

  4. I love all your Icelandic sweaters and related posts – and the Cowichan posts, and the Shetland colorwork and lace, and your lucky thrift-shop finds. Keep them coming! Never fear, no boredom here.

  5. Lovely work on the jumper neck, your mum must be delighted with its new lease of life. I love the muting of the colours over time. Carry on with the Icelandic thoughts if you wish, or indeed anything else, it is all fascinating.

  6. You have definitely updated the lovely sweater to meet your own needs. I doubt that any of your readers ever get tired of hearing about more sweaters—we’re all in this together! Knit On.

  7. I’m not tired of you talking about icelantic sweaters and it looks good on you. I love that you are now wearing a sweater that your mom wore all those years ago and I love seeing the pictures of both of you.

  8. You can write as many Icelandic sweater posts as you want – love them, love the sweaters. And this is wonderful – just goes to show that a good sweater never ends…

  9. Beautiful! I agree about Strokkur — the yoke is just the right depth, and the neckline sits so nicely. Love seeing your Icelandic knits. We’ve had such a cold winter, I’ve been obsessing about them, too.

  10. Hi Ella, Your blog is just wonderful. I loved your photos and your knitting is gorgeous! I was put in mind of a style of knitting I discovered on the West coast of Sweden, called “Bohus stickning”. You can google it. It often features yokes similar to the Icelandic sweaters, but the unique thing is that they usually mix in a bit of “fuzzy” wool as well, which softens the pattern, makes it look almost like the northern lights. Have a look at this picture, for example: http://images4-b.ravelrycache.com/uploads/miastick/111508658/document_upload30031-3_medium2.jpg

    I hope I will get to your part of Scotland soon, I will come and say hello

    Kind regards,
    Lilly Hunter (@LillyLyle on twitter)

  11. Pingback: 2014 round up | ella gordon

Leave a Reply, i'd love to hear your thoughts!

