birthday yoke

IMG_3388

if you read Kates blog you’ll know she was up in Shetland last week on a yoke mission for her new book, of course all that looking,talking and thinking about yokes gave me the urge to make one too.. (hello to all my new followers who have found me through Kate!) a peerie while ago now I bought a a very basic chunky knitting machine off ebay for about £80. (a zippy 90 to be exact!) It was during the height of my icelandic knitting faze and I had all these ideas about the bodies I could whip up for Icelandic yokes.. In short the machine needed a new sponge bar and even when I got one its just didn’t knit very smoothly, anyhoozels I put it away for when I had more time to work with it. Last week I had no time but somehow I decided to try out some of my Lopi stash on the machine and it worked great! so over two nights I knitted up the body of a Vormorgun vest, since it was sleeveless I thought I was a good quick thing to try.

IMG_3383

So.. 6 days later I have a finished yoke! I used the grey and orange left over from my Strokkur, and the yellow and light grey left over from Annie’s Loki. To try and combat the loose sleeves some people seem to have in the project pages on Ravelry I provisionally cast on the sleeves then when I was finished the body I went back and knit the edgings on a size smaller needles with a few decreases before the rib. My smugness is all totally premature as I haven’t even tried it on yet (update: tried it on before I posted this, fits great!) but it is currently drying, tomorrow is my birthday so I’m hoping to wear my birthday yoke! If i do ill put a picture on instagram which you can see on the right hand side —>

IMG_3387

perhaps the yoke reflects the fire from how many candles will be on my cake?.. haha

speak soon xx

22 thoughts on “birthday yoke

  1. happy birthday darling girl, i hope you have the BEST day, and wear your gorgeous new yoked sweater in good health (and while eating lots of cake). candles, lol.

  2. Yay Happy Birthday Ella,and that yoke looks amazing, it’s a really beautiful combination of colours, perfect for this time of year….I’m left shaking my head in wonder at the ease you just knit up a vest and then made a yoke…..you and Kate are both so inspiring.

Leave a Reply, i'd love to hear your thoughts!

