my wool week

If you read my blog you are probably interested in Shetland Textiles, so you probably knew last week was Shetland Wool Week. It is by far the busiest week of work for me and Sandra who I work in the shop at J&S with. We are pretty busy anyway but at Wool Week everything goes into overdrive! I blogged over at the J&S blog so head over there for some more in depth info as to what was on throughout the week at Jamieson & Smith. I met loads of people who told me they read my blog which is very exciting and crazy to me, and it makes me quite proud of my little old blog. So thank you to anyone I spoke to, and sorry if you spoke to me at the end of the week. On Friday afternoon one lady asked for my colour help and my brain had actually melted so I just garbled at her.. very helpful!

I was taking photos all week so I thought I’d share some of my photos.

fleeces at the Guild Teas

fleeces at the Guild Teas

Ganseys at the Shetland Museum

Ganseys at the Shetland Museum

Sandra inspecting some lace

Sandra inspecting some lace

Felicitys brilliant new book and a swatch from it

Felicitys brilliant new book and a swatch from it

speaks for itself..

speaks for itself..

amazing sewing at the Shetland Museum

amazing sewing at the Shetland Museum

look familiar? I was so excited to meet this lady who chose her colours based on Annie's Loki cardigan!

look familiar? I was so excited to meet this lady who chose her colours based on Annie’s Loki cardigan!

Samples from Gudruns Trunk Show

Samples from Gudruns Trunk Show

the middle woolstore ready for Oliver's talk

the middle woolstore ready for Oliver’s talk

Mini Hap Shawl from Gudrun's class

Mini Hap Shawl from Gudrun’s class

Gudrun's new half hap patter

Gudrun’s new half hap pattern

Mary Janes amazing sample

Mary Janes amazing samples

fleeces at the opening ceremony we took down from J&S

fleeces at the opening ceremony we took down from J&S

Fair Isle Cake

Fair Isle Cake

The shop ready and tidy

The shop ready and tidy

chunky waiting to be ransacked..

chunky waiting to be ransacked..

It was a great week, but very tiring to work I’m sure you can understand.. but I loved it! As I always do, this is my 4th Wool Week that i’ve worked at J&S and it was actually through helping at my first one that I got my job so thank goodness for Wool Week!

I am now on full scale craft fair knitting mode so things might be a bit quiet here til after it in November, although I’ll try to post when I can,

speak soon xxx

19 thoughts on “my wool week

  1. I KNIT SO I WON’T KILL PEOPLE……………Gawd, I LOVE it and of course all the pictures you took. Great J&S photos also. You must be recuperating now………have fun.

  2. Great wool week Ella, great to be in the shop and great to meet you. Taken me until yesterday to get over my fortnight away and still not unpacked or started my blog. Great to keep seeing the photos. We’ll be back!

  3. Lovely pic!!! And I old love to have one of those bags… Knitting save a lots of life, lol… But, never happen that it will be possible to visit a place like that….
    Hugs, Bim HD

  4. Thanks so much for sharing all your photos and comments on Wool Week, Ella. How I’d love to be there some time to enjoy it in person. But…….Wovember is coming up fast so there’s lots more to read about and more photos to see. The grass on your side of the fence is definitely greener!!

  5. Lovely, thank you for sharing your photos – one day I’ll get up there and enjoy it in person – but til then I shall liver vicariously through your pictures!

  6. I read your blog from Belgium ans I would like to attend Shetland wool week once…
    Thank you for the pictures and all the interesting things you share.

  7. I wish I could have come for Wool Week and said hello – looks like lots of work but lots of fun! We had a Canadian wool week this year, but there were no events like you’ve got in the UK – just things for ‘industry’ folks.

    Anyway. I’ve been reading for a while and thought I’d leave a hello!

  8. Pingback: Boarding | Wovember

  9. Pingback: 2014 round up | ella gordon

  10. If all goes as planned, 2015 will be the year I attend The Shetland Wool Festival! ♡ Hoped 2014 was to be my first, but apparently needed to wait. Your blog has me SO EAGER to make it in September this year. My Room Reservations are secured, plane tickets next. WooHoo!

Leave a Reply, i'd love to hear your thoughts!

