knitting

iceland

next year I am going to Iceland!!!!!

photo by kate davies
photo by kate davies

As you know, I have a love for Icelandic textiles (ahem, ahem, ahem) which I thought like some of my knitting phases would come and go BUT ever since I got into it, rather than abating the urge has grown stronger.. So, I took a deep breath and booked myself a place on one of Helene Magnuson’s knitting tours in  May 2015, this one to be exact: Spring Knitting Retreat.

photo by kate davies
photo by kate davies

I am so excited. I booked my place on Monday, and my flights from Edinburgh (the irony of flying south to go north isn’t lost on me..) the trip contains so many things I would love to do and I cant believe I will be doing them!! I’m not a big traveller and I am an especially nervous island girl but somehow, rather than being nervous about going on my own to a foreign country (either a great idea or idiotic) so I am beside myself to be going on a knitting holiday to Iceland!! I’m sure this is what knitterly people feel when they come to Shetland.

photo by kate davies
photo by kate davies

sigh.. so if you would also like to go to Iceland, I would urge you to come on this trip if you can. Luckily I have a large stash of Icelandic Wool so apart from my business knitting (I am a cushion making machine atm..) I shall spent from now til May making myself many Lopi Jumpers

Speak soon,

Ella xx

35 comments on “iceland

  1. This is so exciting for you!! I’m sure you’ll have a different Lopi sweater to wear everyday. You’ll be quite busy knitting before the trip!!
    Kate’s pictures are beautiful, especially the one of the houses with grass on the roofs. So picturesque!!

  2. Ella you will have such a good time in Iceland with Helene! I went on one of her tours this July and had a wonderful time. Everyone was so nice, Helene is a great guide and tutor and Iceland is just fantastic. I’m looking forward to seeing your blog posts from Iceland, and to catching up during next year’s Shetland Wool Week so we can swap Icelandic ‘yarns’!!

  3. Wow, that sounds so exciting. Really looking forward to reading about it. Only just getting round to writing about this year’s wool week on my blog so good to go through all the memories again.

  4. thecrazysheeplady

    How awesome!!!

  5. slippedstitches

    This sounds like it is going to be awesome. I am so delighted for you.

  6. galloj1904

    How exciting. I’ve always wanted to go there. A great opportunity.
    Jacqui

  7. Wow. This will be phenomenal.

  8. Hello Ella,

    Oh I am so pleased for you! Those holidays are a dream by the looks!
    I can just imagine the mixed feelings.
    Yes, that is what it feels like to come to Shetland!
    In fact we wondered whether to go to Iceland this year, but came to woolweek instead as travelling with little Linda isn’t that easy! She is loving the ball of wool she bought the other day. My wool arrived and I a busy knitting, too. Thanks for all you did.
    Hope you have perked up again. Was lovely to see you both. I do miss the island.

    Warm regards,
    Joanne (from Germany)

    • Thanks Joanne, great to hear from you, glad you enjoyed wool week again, this trip to Iceland will be like my wool week! Haha xx

  9. Sounds terrific! Iceland is on my to do/knit list ;-) Have lots of fun!

  10. I am so very jealous. It will be magnificent! Enjoy every moment

  11. How exciting!! You are a very lucky lady!!! Happy planning!!

  12. Congratulations! You’ll have so much fun, I’m sure of it :)

  13. You will love it! I’m saving up to go back!

  14. Wow! This sounds like the trip of a lifetime! We expect lots of pictures and a full report while you are there. And yes, this is exactly what knitterly people feel like when they go to Shetland. :-)

  15. Wow Ella,
    Kudos on taking the plunge. I wish I was coming with ya sounds fabulous.
    I can’t wait to see all the blog posts.

  16. I didn’t know such tours exist :D

  17. Marianne Mast

    You won’t regret this ! This is exactly what I was thinking when I booked myself a place on Gudrun’s knitting tour during Wool Week. Going there alone without knowing anyone. But you will be with other knitters who enjoy the same things a you do. You will have an amazing time I’m sure of that. And you will make lots of new knitting friends !
    It was so nice to meet you in Shetland,
    warm regards,
    Marianne

  18. Hi Ella I love your croft cushions, is it possible to buy them, if so where could I buy one from.

    Best wishes

    Gaele

    • Hi Gaele, im afraid im not taking commisions til after the end of November, if you email me then i can make one for you, thanks xx

  19. OMG you’ll love it sooooo much! Jealous!!

  20. stashdragon

    I’m so glad to hear this; you will appreciate Iceland thoroughly, I’m sure. One of my favorite places on earth!

  21. Maybe next year you will make Icelandic Croft Houses complete with grass roofs. Have a wonderful time!

  22. You are going to LOVE Iceland! And knitting tours are the BEST (oh, how I long to do it all again!)

  23. HAHA, no surprise here !! Fantastic.

  24. Iceland and the Shetlands are this knitter’s dream places. I’ve been to the first one twice, you will definitely looooove it!!!

  25. I would love to go to Iceland again – it was Iceland that first inspired me to knit! But I don’t know that I’d be able to afford Iceland AND Shetland in the same year!

Leave a Reply, i'd love to hear your thoughts!

