knitting shetland

lila winter

IMG_4481

As mentioned in my last post, I was making good progress on my lila winter.. well I have now finished and after wearing it today I can say I am very pleased. I love to collect and wear the craziest Fair Isle knitwear I can but I also have a big love for simple and effective knitwear. This pattern is from Anthology 2 which came out in January. It was love at first sight! It is a simple chunky jumper with a curved hem and garter stitch cuffs.

IMG_4461

I loved the dark grey in the sample but I didn’t have anything right in my stash and (apart from wool I bought last night..) I’m trying not to buy too much wool.. so I had a dig around and I decided upon Shetland Aran in shade SS17 (discontinued and I bought the last of it.. sorry) its a beautiful light grey. I held two strands together to achieve a chunky weight which was hard going on my hands as it is quite a rough 2 ply woollen spun yarn.

IMG_4474

It is knit top down and actually came together really quickly, I love the garter stitch cuffs and rib. Its so nice and squishy! I also learnt a new way to do short rows, the Carol Sunday method which is now my favourite. It seems to be the best for me to avoid holes when I close the gaps.

IMG_4485

The jumper is lovely as cosy, all the more appropriate is the name Lila Winter since this is what we woke up to in Lerwick today..

IMG_4453

brrr..  speak soon xxxx

14 comments on “lila winter

  1. Lovely, wintery sweater. Love the squishiness!! We all need a few of this type because of where we live and winters can be long. We have had 9″+ of snow and are expecting a total of about 15″.

  2. This is lovely! There’s definitely something special about the simplicity of stockinette and garter stitch!

  3. This jumper is cozily perfect for your winter. I like the neutral grey. I can see you wearing it with a chambray or printed collar button up and a statement necklace.

  4. love this- given me ideas for my own creation (recycled chunky freedom spirit)

  5. What a nice pattern – not the usual chunky pullover, but some nice detail in the design. I bet you were glad to have it this morning!

  6. I’m not a knitter yet (though learning is most certainly on my to-do list!), but I WANT THIS JUMPER! So beautiful.

  7. That looks like such a cozy sweater! I especially like the curved hem. Well done!

  8. I really like the apparent simplicity of the design

  9. Beautiful! I love it in the Shetland Aran special 2 ply or is that 4ply ;)

  10. Nice work, Ella. Looks very comfortable! I agree with about Carol Sunday’s short-row method. I learnt it from Kate’s YOKES! book, and it works wonderfully. :)

  11. Lovely jumper and thanks for the tip on short rows! Those eyelets really annoy me sometimes!

  12. Yay for chunky jumpers :) The curved hem looks pretty, but also smart, you don’t have to worry about your lower back. Nice!

  13. Pingback: 2015 | ella gordon

Leave a Reply, i'd love to hear your thoughts!

