iceland: part 1

So I am back from Iceland! I had a brilliant time and took far too many photos, I thought instead of bombarding you with hundreds of pictures I might do a general post today with some photos from my trip and then do some specific posts about places we went. I began my trip with a few days with Kate (and Tom and Bruce of course) we went for a lovely walk (to the tree!!) and it was great to see Kate!

PicMonkey Collage IMG_5432I flew from Edinburgh to Keflavick and joined up with Helene Magnusson’s Spring Knitting Retreat holiday, we did a lot of travelling around the west side of Iceland and these are a few pictures of some of the things we saw:

IMG_5457
Hallgrimskirkja
IMG_5463
baby icelandic lamb

IMG_5477

IMG_5493
naturally dyed yarns at Hespa

IMG_5483

IMG_5481

IMG_5683
Helene’s yarns

PicMonkey Collage2

IMG_5633

 

IMG_5488 IMG_5629

IMG_5478PicMonkey Collage3I’ll be back soon with more specific posts the places we visited including the Textile Museum, the Istex Yarn Factory and even a Fish Tannery…! til then speak soon and happy knitting!

Ella x

24 thoughts on “iceland: part 1

  1. This is one country I’ve always wanted to go (one day!) after having an Icelandic penfriend many years ago. It looks a stunning place! Can’t wait to hear more of your adventures!

  2. Ella, I was so excited to see part 2 pop in! I have really taken a deep interest in Icelandic Designs/Knitting. I have also searched for more information on Greenlandic designs, but there doesn’t seem to be much. Sigh! I am hopeful for future information. Kate Davies really gets your thought moving, doesn’t she? I have been over her new book, “Yokes” so many times it’s already looking a bit sad. Between the two of you I will never have a dull moment in my Knitting World! I do have a question, I have come over a number of designs that have appeared in books and articles that it seems impossible to find, one is in Kate’s book on page 31 and another is in the” Best of Lopi” on page 114, top in a line of 4 , 1st in the left. They both strike me as being somewhat different from the norm. I haven’t wanted to bother Kate, but this one in particular is really going to bug me until I find out more about it.

    Well, thanks again for the brilliant posts! More please! Have a bit of good rest before the next adventure!

    1. Kirsten. I if you like I might be able to help you find what you are looking for, if it is Icelandic in origin, being Icelandic and living there. I am a member of the Icelandic Handicraft association and might be able to find what you are looking for. I would need pictures. You can send me an email at brynhildur(at)gmail.com

      1. Thank you so much for lending a hand, as you can tell I need lots of hands! Iceland is amazing! My Husband teases me because when the house is finally quiet, I curl up with books all around me. Recent peeks have been Iceland, Greenland, Faroese Islands and a small town in Alaska called Cordova, That has a rich Fishing History and their take on Fishermen’s Sweaters. I will get together what you need and pop it off to the address you supplied. You are doing me a favor so please, at your convenience. If I can ever help you out with anything just let me know!

        Thanks Again!

    2. Wow, thanks Ella. I’ll get what I have together. Iceland has such a rich and wonderful History! The first time I read an article, I was hooked.
      Thanks again and I’ll send what I have to the address you provided! Have a wonderful Weekend!
      Kirsten

      1. Wow! I really need help it appears. This what happens when your tired and kids are running in and out and dogs are chasing the kids, not to mention the phone. Please accept my apology ! Looking forward to hearing and seeing more about your trip!

  3. I’m so happy to see the first of many (I hope) posts about your trip to Iceland. Thought of you many times during the week of your tour & now we can all share your holiday. Love the juxtaposition of skeins of Alafoss with scenic shots. How did they like your Icelandic sweaters? I assume you brought along some of your own.

  4. Brilliant pictures wish I had been there with all that wool cannot wait to hear and see the rest of your journey

  5. My sister and husband have been there and want to go back…despite Winds from hell :) Nice pictures, thank you.

  6. Lovely photos. It must have been hard not to buy all that yarn! Now I will have to put Iceland on my bucket list.

  7. Pingback: 2015 | ella gordon

Leave a Reply, i'd love to hear your thoughts!

