Every year WordPress sends you a handy dandy list of stats about your blog so I thought it would be fun to share my most viewed posts of the year! My top viewed post was my version of a baa-ble hat, the 2015 official Wool Week pattern by Donna Smith

baable

Next was my few new yokes post, I am continuously knitting yokes and these are two of my favourites!

IMG_4855

Then there was another yoke, my Cockatoo Brae! I was very proud of this collaboration I worked on with Kate, the original that I made the body and sleeves for made it onto the cover of Yokes so I had to make myself one of course!

collage1

Some of my most viewed posts aren’t from 2015 and the last two are both from previous years, this one is from 2014 and its my Fair Isle yoke. This was very much a trial and error project when I was beginnng to refine my machine/hand knitting combanations skills for knitting my own yokes

IMG_2444

And the last post is one of my most viewed of all time, the 2013 post about my Spencer Dresses, there may be some action with this at J&S soon so keep an eye out for that..!

IMG_1069

This year I feel a made some good steps in my knitting skills and made a lot of things I am really happy with, I feel I’m getting better at making more things that fit into my wardrobe, like my Lila Winter which has been getting a lot of wear the past few months..

IMG_4485

My Riddari, which gave me my first chance at using Quince & Co yarns

IMG_5098

I also did some more traditional Shetland knitting with my Half Hansel, my first hap!

IMG_5298

I feel I made time to make things I really wanted this year, like my third (!) puffin jumper, this time in the original colours

4

One of my favourite projects of the year was probably my Crofthouse Vest which although it sparked some varied opinions in the comments I am pretty pleased with it.

IMG_6877

My fastest and probably another favourite project of the year was my Icelandic Jumper I knit in four days!

collage

Speaking of Iceland of course in May I went there! (there are a few posts about it – of course! see them here, here,here and here)

IMG_5483

And in October we had another brilliant Shetland Wool WeekIMG_6612

In which I had two patterns in the annual and gave a talk with Kate about our Vintage knitwear collections

2015-09-02_1441211884

2015-09-29_1443550377

Of course I’ve been knitting away at my crofthouses and had another successful Craft Fair, I am taking a bit of a break from them at the moment but I’ll be back at them soon!

2015-11-13_1447441818

phewf! a busy 2015! each year somehow more of you are finding me and saying lovely things. Quite often I go back and read some of my posts and so many of you leave lovely and kind comments, I don’t reply back to many because I don’t want to reply to some and not all so I find it easier to not reply, but know I read them all and greatly appreciate them. They help to make me feel better a lot, so thank you for reading here! So for 2016 I would like to know about the kind of things you would like me to post about here? please leave me a comment and let me know, its back to work next week, this break has flown by but for now I hope you have a good Hogmanay and a Happy New Year when it comes!

Speak soon, Ella xx

24 comments on “2015

  1. What a gorgeous post of hand knits! Inspiration truly abounds in those photos.

  2. What a year! I’d love to see more of your own patterns, because I think you are a very talented designer :)

  3. Your projects are incredible!!

  4. Love your colorwork. Hau’oli makahiki hou. May 2016 be even more lovely for you.

  5. spinningsheepfeathers

    Your knitting is incredible!! I’ve followed for almost 2 years and always look forward to your posts. I love the Croft Hoose sweater as well as the Lopapeysa and all the Fair Isles and just everything. But I’m REALLY excited about the possibility of a pattern for a Spencer dress!! Woohoo. I would really like to read about the lady who originally designed them.

  6. Such beautiful garments, the selection and combination of yarn and patterns are stunning. Well done!

  7. 2015 was the year I discovered your blog (while at home with flu and mooching about the yarny part of the internet!); and I was engrossed for hours catching up with all your yarny adventures up in Shetland. I lparticularly enjoy reading about how the landscape and environment influence your knitting, I love seeing your gorgeous photos and dreaming about one day visiting Shetland in person, and I really love hearing about life at Jamieson and Smith.

  8. I’m a huge fan of anything Shetland: not just knitting and patterns but traditions, history…so always enjoy all of that. Love to hear about your family traditions too. I look forward to anything you write about! Thanks for your terrific blog.

  9. alixpearson

    Yowser – what a wonderful review of your year. I hope you feel justifiably proud of all those achievements. And thank you for the most exciting hint about the Spencer dress. I watched your superb vintage knitwear talk on the live stream and have had my fingers crossed about the Spencer dress ever since. HNY to you.

  10. OH boy, oh boy, oh boy……the SPENSER Dress!!! Love your hat and of course your HAP with the ORANGE! Really picks it up. I would like to send you a picture of the Hap for Harriet I just finished but not sure how to do it……..It was from a Ryeland fleece from Shankend Farms in the
    Borders, spun lace weight. Thank you again for all you do with this post. Keeps us inspired!! HNY to you and yours!

  11. I look forward to all your posts. I love your crofter houses and really want to make that hap. My autocorrect tried to say I really want to make that happen! Greetings from the west coast of Canada.

  12. Deborah Barr

    You have had a wonderful year of knitting. Thank you for sharing your talent….it is a great source of inspiration! Best wishes for a happy year ahead in 2016!

  13. Marie Alpe

    What a wonderful blog. Inspirational. Love your yarn projects. Happy New Year from New Zealand.

  14. Love all your projects! You are such an inspiration!

  15. I just love your posts Ella , keep them going ! Happy New Year !!!

  16. Thank you for sharing your beautiful projects. I especially love the yokes, so inspiring! Happy New Year :)

  17. Hi Ella,
    Happy New Year, I’ve really enjoyed reading your blog, Im always very interested in reading about your knitting, I like seeing your colour combinations especially on your yokes….I vaguely remember reading about an exhibition you did at the Shetland Museum the other year with examples of different Shetland knitting and thought that was excellent….

  18. Kathy Bernett, Michigan USA

    Happy New Year, Ella! Loved your year in review post, as well as rereading posts you linked back to. You do realize, don’t you, that once your Spencer Dress pattern comes out that the shop will be flooded with orders & you’ll be busier than Wool Week?

  19. Hello Ella,
    Your year end review is very impressive- although I think that every time I read your blog – which is as soon as the entry’s turn up – I’m always impressed. I admire your dedication to Shetland knitting and your constant quest of it’s many facets. I love that you followed your heart in staying in Shetland which you clearly love, as well as exploring the tangent aspects: i.e. Iceland and Nordic knitting.
    As I have recently acquired a knitting machine, I’m especially interested in the mechanics of how a design idea (hand knit pattern) becomes a reality and I would especially love it if you would do a detailed step by step report of how you execute a design from pattern (hand knit) to finish (machine knit or parts thereof). Included would be not only the successes but the set backs (Cockatoo Brae comes to mind as an example) – from which we could all learn so much. You make it look so easy, but I suspect that it has it’s challenging moments and it would be encouraging to know about those too. You could even do a book of different styles of sweaters/ jumpers, cardigans!

    I hope the New Year brings you much happiness and fulfillment.

  20. missceliespants

    I’m new to your blog and I just wanted to say your work in *incredible*. I’m looking forward to seeing what you make in 2016.

  21. I’m so happy I found your blog this year. It’s such a treat! Thank you for putting your time into it.
    I love posts about knitting- FOs, WIPs, and especially follow up posts about how an item is wearing, whether the design fits you/ your wardrobe, how you wear it, that sort of thing. I also second Louisa and anyone else’s comments regarding more detail on your machine knitting/hand knitting combo. I am so intrigued!
    Any way- thanks again for all you do!

  22. Happy New Year and just keep on going,I like your blog a lot

Leave a Reply, i'd love to hear your thoughts!

