iceland knitting

flowerpot

IMG_7411

hellooo, i’m sorry for the silence over here the past little while, after new year I had two infections then it was Up Helly Aa (aka one of my fave days) then I had a horrendous flu. It was a pain, anyway I’m back in the game now and doing lots of exciting things, most of which is secret but I do have a finished thing to show you, my flowerpot cardigan!!

IMG_7395

At wool week I saw one of my ravelry friends at J&S wearing her version of this cardigan (see it here) and it looked so cosy and warm that I immediately wanted to make it. The pattern is called Flowerpot and it is designed by Helene Magnusson, who I went to Iceland with last year. This pattern is inspired by the shoe inserts which I saw at the textile museum and it is knit by using Icelandic intarsia.

college

I really enjoyed learning how to do it and I love the look of garter stitch so this kind of next level garter stitch is right up my street! I found it quite relaxing and since you were only knitting with one colour at a time it was really good for knitting on while watching tv or doing something else. Most of the hand knitting I do is Fair Isle so you have to be paying a bit of attention, this was surprisingly mindless. I used the yarn called for in the pattern, which is Alafoss Lopi and I used I think all the greys they make expect maybe one!

IMG_7425

Although its taken me a few months to finish this it actually could be knit pretty quick if you were monogamous and worked on it a bit everyday, i always have too much floating around in my brain for that.. Its still pretty chilly in Shetland so I am very glad to get this finished and worn!

Hopefully be back with more posts shortly, lots of exciting things coming soon..

ella xx

11 comments on “flowerpot

  1. I must say the term Flowerpot doesn’t do it justice. I didn’t know what to expect. I like your choice of the greys and I’ll bet it is toasty!!

  2. It’s lovely, Ella!

  3. slippedstitches

    I love it also. What is Icelandic intarsia as opposed to regular intarsia?

  4. Kathy Bernett, Michigan USA

    Do you find the Flowerpot comfortable to wear? It just seems to me to be so oversized & the sleeves oddly positioned that it might be impractical except to pose standing still. It is certainly dramatic, like many of Helene’s patterns.

  5. This looks great I think I may need to add this to my to make list!

  6. Glad to hear you are now feeling well. Loved your new creation. >

  7. Very dramatic and stunning. Congratulations. Don’t you love Lopi?

  8. Gorgeous cardigan! Looks so cozy and warm, perfect colors! I am glad you are feeling better!

  9. Absolutely stunning! I really love the monochrome color scheme you chose.

  10. Looks very nice on you, and cozy! It reminds me of a Kaffe Fassett pattern from the 1980s.

Leave a Reply, i'd love to hear your thoughts!

