plain crown crofthoose

IMG_7802 col3

Hello! Thank you so much for all the lovely comments about my last post, I’m so glad so many of you enjoyed my video, and thanks also for all the nice messages about my hoose hat and jumper, today I thought i’d share another Crofthoose Hat Ive just finished.

IMG_7813

I know not everyone is into or wanting to do lots of Fair Isle so I thought I would also do a version with a plain rib and a plain crown, I started this ages away but only got a chance to finish it the other night but I’m really pleased with how it came out. Fair Isle crowns can also be a bit tricky sometimes so this is a bit more mindless.

col1

I used Brooklyn Tweed Loft and made a tiny, tiny dent in my stash. I wanted to try a more greyish colour scheme and I really like it. So if you would like to make a plain crown version of the Crofthoose Hat, heres how!

  • Download the pattern here!
  • Cast on the normal amount and knit a 2×2 rib for 8 rows, I used 2.25mm needles to get a nice tight rib using the Loft yarn, if your using normal Shetland Yarn, 2.5mm or 3.00mm would be fine.
  • Increase and change to bigger needles, follow the hoose chart and decrease as described in the pattern
  • knit 1 row, placing a marker every 12 stitches.
  • decrease by knitting until 2 sts before each marker then k2tog.
  • decrease every other row until 6 sts remain.
  • leave a tail and thread it through the remaining stitches and pull tightly.

IMG_7824

I hope you like my plain crown version! Me and Mam found a nice burn to take some photos at, I think it goes nicely with the hat. I’m loving seeing all the projects appearing on ravelry and instagram, it makes me very happy! thank you xx

Speak soon!

10 thoughts on “plain crown crofthoose

  1. Hi Ella,
    I really liked your video. It was fun to see everything you got at the Edinburgh Yarn Festival. I live in the U.S. so I’m just becoming familiar with the yarn scene in the UK. I think I have a lot to learn! I’m looking forward to making your hat!

  2. I am making your hat as we speak, and thinking about Shetland in all its glory. I am just about to start the crown and a plain one would be ideal. The photos are simply fabulous.

  3. I’m going to knit this version….please please do a podcast. You are a natural and I would love to see all your yarns

  4. Hello,
    I would like to make a grey crofthoose hat. Could tell me the color conversion with the Jamieson & Smith 2 Ply Jumper Weight yarn? Where could I add a pop of raspberry color?
    Thank you

Leave a Reply, i'd love to hear your thoughts!

