bairns crofthoose yoke

IMG_8578

Hello! I’m sorry I’ve been so quiet over this past month, work has been busy, the weathers been quite nice and oh yeah my countries political climate has gone absolutely to shit… (pardon my language)

ANYWAY.. I have something exciting to share with you today, my Bairns Crofthoose Yoke pattern is available now!

PicMonkey Collage PicMonkey Collage2

I have done two versions which are both available in the pattern: a long sleeve and a short sleeve one. I have used Jamieson & Smith 2ply Jumper weight but you could use any 4ply yarn. I rejigged the chart from my adult yoke pattern and removed one row of hooses as well as keeping the background colour the same. I am really happy with how my colours came out, i thought it might be quite a girly pattern but I think it really suits Magnie too. Its available in sizes age 1 up to 12  but the ages is just a guide, I have a quite detailed size chart in the pattern.

IMG_8494

IMG_8458

The jumper is knit in the round to the oxters (armpits) both sleeves are knit, it is all joined together, raglan shaping is worked and then you cast on extra steek stitches to work the yoke in the round.

IMG_8521 IMG_8417

At the end you reinforce the steek (by hand sewing/machine sewing/crochet) and cut it open before knitting a short buttonband for easy getting on and off, someone mentioned to me that buttons are not good for girls with long hair so you could easily replace them with snap closures if you wanted to, I love choosing buttons to go with things though! I’m really pleased with how this came out, and I’m also really happy with the photos, of course I’m biased but my niece and nephew really are quite cute!!

IMG_8435 IMG_8487 IMG_8538

So if you want to make your own Bairns Crofthoose Yoke you can buy the pattern here on Ravelry

Speak soon! xx

9 thoughts on “bairns crofthoose yoke

  1. Lovely little sweater. I’d second the thing about buttons on the back of the neck for long hair – and not just little girls either. I can’t wear fastenings at the back of my neck at all, as my hair catchings horrible. You could put the buttons across one shoulder and make a feature of it – show off really nice buttons better too!

Leave a Reply, i'd love to hear your thoughts!

